Pillars of Islam

Five Pillars of Islam

2. Salaat (Prayer)

Prayer is a physical and mental means of worship prescribed five times a day. This is a direct link between the worshiper and Allah (God). Muslims can pray anywhere which is clean, and they must ensure to face the Holy Mosque, Ka’ba in Makkah, Saudi Arabia. Salaat is performed at set times: before sunrise, at mid-day, in the afternoon, in the evening after sunset and at nightfall.


1. Shahadah (Testimony)

Muslims declare their faith by saying: “La ilaha illallah Muhammadur Rasulullah” which means “there is none worthy of worship besides God (Allah) and Muhammad (peace be upon him) is His messenger”. The declaration signifies belief in the purpose of life as fulfilling the commands of Allah (God), as shown by the Messenger. Also, by reciting the Shahadah  (which is the Declaration of Faith) with sincerety and conviction, one can enter the Islamic faith and become a Muslim.


3. Zakat (Charity)

The Arabic word Zakat means to purify. Muslims give 2.5% of their surplus wealth to charity calculated annually. This shows obedience to Allah (God) and prevents greed. Zakat is given to those who are poor and those who are less fortunate than ourselves. It is believed that by giving charity, the possessions you keep are made pure.

The religion of Islam requires accepting some main Articles of Faith. These are the core beliefs – without any one of these, one would not be accepted as a believer.

The Five Pillars of Islam are the fundamental duties in a Muslim’s life, which lead to living a good and responsible life according to Islam.


4. Sawm (Fasting)

For one full month of the year, Muslims refrain from food and drink and sexual relations with their spouses from dawn until dusk. Fasting during this time is obligatory upon every Muslim adult if they are mentally and physically able, and not on a journey. Women are given exception during menstruation, child birth or whilst nursing a baby. Although fasting is beneficial to health, Muslims fast in order to develop self-control, self-purification, discipline and to engender gratitude for the bounties they have been given by Allah (God).

5. Hajj (Pilgrimage)

Hajj is the journey to the Holy sites in Makkah, Saudi Arabia to perform various rituals. It is only obligatory once in a life time upon those who have the financial means and are physically able. The pilgrims adorn simple garment that strip away any distractions of class and culture, so they all stand equal before Allah (God).